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	<title>Netconcepts</title>
	<link>http://www.netconcepts.com</link>
	<description>Specialists in SEO, web dev, online marketing, and ecommerce</description>
	<pubDate>Thu, 13 Nov 2008 20:21:06 +0000</pubDate>
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		<managingEditor>megan@netconcepts.com ()</managingEditor>
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		<itunes:summary>Specialists in SEO, web dev, online marketing, and ecommerce</itunes:summary>
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		<itunes:category text="Technology"/>
<itunes:category text="Business">
  <itunes:category text="Management &amp; Marketing"/>
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			<itunes:email>megan@netconcepts.com</itunes:email>
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			<title>Netconcepts</title>
			<link>http://www.netconcepts.com</link>
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		<item>
		<title>Web 2.0 &#038; Search Engines</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/2008-06-18-2/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/2008-06-18-2/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 18 Jun 2008 22:08:26 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chris Smith</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[News &amp; Media]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[Seminars]]></category>
<category>Buzz Marketing</category><category>Seminars</category><category>SEO</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/2008-06-18-2/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[An overused and amorphous term, &#8220;Web 2.0&#8243; nonetheless encompasses an evolutionary shift from the typical web user experience of a decade ago. Some aspects of the &#8220;new&#8221; web environment are great for improving your search traffic. Other developments may lead you to make serious SEO errors. Among other things, Web 2.0 is about new user [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>An overused and amorphous term, &#8220;Web 2.0&#8243; nonetheless encompasses an evolutionary shift from the typical web user experience of a decade ago. Some aspects of the &#8220;new&#8221; web environment are great for improving your search traffic. Other developments may lead you to make serious SEO errors. Among other things, Web 2.0 is about new user interface designs that speed up user actions with techniques such as AJAX (Asynchronous Javascript and XML), which allow users to perform operations nimbly without loading a new HTML page. This session will cover AJAX, CSS, user-generated content, and other new trends in web design and user experiences that may require a re-think of your SEO strategy.</p>
<p>Speaker:<br />
Chris &#8220;Silver&#8221; Smith, Lead Strategist, Netconcepts</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.netconcepts.com/2008-06-18-2/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Web Site Design Spotlight: Live, On-the-spot Critique of Retailers&#8217; Sites</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/2008-06-11/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/2008-06-11/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 11 Jun 2008 22:15:35 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Stephan Spencer</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[News &amp; Media]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[Seminars]]></category>
<category>Seminars</category><category>SEO</category><category>Web Development</category><category>Web Marketing</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/2008-06-11/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[ A team of long time e-commerce experts will provide live reviews and makeovers for sites from the audience members. Retailers in the audience will be asked to bring search marketing, user experience, e-commerce strategy and other design questions to this session where experts will view the sites in question and provide answers to fix [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p> A team of long time e-commerce experts will provide live reviews and makeovers for sites from the audience members. Retailers in the audience will be asked to bring search marketing, user experience, e-commerce strategy and other design questions to this session where experts will view the sites in question and provide answers to fix what ails their web sites. Audience members who volunteer their sites for critique will receive a $25 Starbucks gift card.</p>
<p>Panelists:<br />
Lauren Freedman, President, the e-tailing group<br />
Stephan Spencer, President, Netconcepts<br />
Amy Africa, President, Eight by Eight</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.netconcepts.com/2008-06-11/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>When SEO Isn&#8217;t Really SEO</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/when-seo-isnt-really-seo/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/when-seo-isnt-really-seo/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 31 Mar 2008 15:29:24 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Jeff Muendel</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[Learning Center]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[Search Engine Optimization]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[Web Marketing]]></category>
<category>Articles</category><category>online marketing</category><category>SEO</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/when-seo-isnt-really-seo/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Do you know what the difference is between SEO and online marketing? Confused about the terminology? In this article featured on Practical eCommerce, Jeff Muendel discusses how SEO is a specialty within the online marketing field.
By definition, SEO refers to the process of optimizing a website with the goal of having major search engines (primarily [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Do you know what the difference is between SEO and online marketing? Confused about the terminology? In this article featured on Practical eCommerce, Jeff Muendel discusses how SEO is a specialty within the online marketing field.</p>
<blockquote><p>By definition, SEO refers to the process of optimizing a website with the goal of having major search engines (primarily Google, Yahoo! and MSN Live Search) return pages from that website in highly-ranked search engine results. SEO is almost always employed as a form of marketing, but it is a very specific form of marketing that takes place within the search engines.</p>
<p>Lately, some industry blogs have suggested that SEO has grown beyond its primary parameters, suggesting that successful SEO includes expanding into other realms of marketing. I don&#8217;t think that makes any sense. By definition, SEO - search engine optimization - does not include any form of marketing that goes outside of search engines. The use of the term SEO in such a way is disingenuous and confuses many webmasters and owners of ecommerce sites.</p></blockquote>
<p>For more about this controversial topic, visit the full article on Practical eCommerce <a rel="nofollow" href="http://www.practicalecommerce.com/articles/706/When-SEO-Isnt-Really-SEO/">here</a>.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Website Metrics and ROI: Getting the Most out of Your Online Marketing Spend</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/2008-03-04/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/2008-03-04/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 04 Mar 2008 15:08:58 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Stephan Spencer</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[News &amp; Media]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[Seminars]]></category>
<category>Seminars</category><category>Web Marketing</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/website-metrics-and-roi-getting-the-most-out-of-your-online-marketing-spend/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[ In this teleseminar, learn what to measure, including&#8230;

Abandonment metrics - for uncovering why visitors are leaving your site prematurely

Conversion metrics - for insight into your acquisition funnel

Retention metrics - for boosting your customer retention

Search engine metrics - for obtaining the best return on your search marketing investment

Email marketing metrics - for achieving the highest [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p> In this teleseminar, learn what to measure, including&#8230;</p>
<ul>
<li>Abandonment metrics - for uncovering why visitors are leaving your site prematurely
</li>
<li>Conversion metrics - for insight into your acquisition funnel
</li>
<li>Retention metrics - for boosting your customer retention
</li>
<li>Search engine metrics - for obtaining the best return on your search marketing investment
</li>
<li>Email marketing metrics - for achieving the highest response rates from your email campaigns</li>
</ul>
<p>Is your web site successful? Is your online marketing &#8212; including your SEO, paid search ads, email campaigns &#8212; all working, and how can you find out? The answer lies in metrics. It&#8217;s hard to improve upon something you&#8217;re not measuring. You could drop $100,000 on a high-end web analytics package. But if you don&#8217;t have a staffer dedicated to making sense of all those reports and taking some sort action as a result, it&#8217;s wasted money. Better to spend $10,000 on a lesser web analytics solution and $90,000 for a salary to employ someone highly skilled in web analytics. In fact, you&#8217;d be surprised the powerful tools you can get for free (and yes, we&#8217;ll go over some of the most exciting ones during the teleseminar). However, right now your first investment should be in signing up for this teleseminar.</p>
<p>Speakers:<br />
Stephan Spencer &#8212; Founder and President, Netconcepts<br />
Avinash Kaushik &#8212; Author, Speaker and Analytics Evangelist</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.netconcepts.com/2008-03-04/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Driving Engagement Through Widgets and Gadgets</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/2008-01-23/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/2008-01-23/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 23 Jan 2008 18:49:29 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Stephan Spencer</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[News &amp; Media]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[Seminars]]></category>
<category>Seminars</category><category>SEO</category><category>Web Marketing</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/2008-01-23/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[ iGoogle, Facebook, MySpace, Bebo - social networks are the hottest topic of Web 2.0.  Recent developments such as Google&#8217;s OpenSocial platform may further accelerate the explosive growth in widget and gadget application users.  So what do widgets really mean to your customers and to your bottom line? What monetization strategies should you [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p> iGoogle, Facebook, MySpace, Bebo - social networks are the hottest topic of Web 2.0.  Recent developments such as Google&#8217;s OpenSocial platform may further accelerate the explosive growth in widget and gadget application users.  So what do widgets really mean to your customers and to your bottom line? What monetization strategies should you focus on to ensure widgets are more than just a buzzword to your organization? And how to you prevent your widget from becoming another lost or unused orphan among thousands of other apps?  Misty Locke, co-founder and president of Range Online Media, has been working with numerous retailers to determine the most innovative, engaging and measurable approach to web applications. Misty will lead a discussion with other industry experts to answer these questions and to tackle how to succeed with widgets and gadgets today, pitfalls to avoid and emerging opportunities beyond 2008.</p>
<p>Speakers:<br />
Misty Locke, Co-Founder and President, Range Online Media<br />
Stephan Spencer, Founder and President, NetConcepts<br />
Pinny Gniwisch, Founder and EVP Marketing, ice.com</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.netconcepts.com/2008-01-23/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Interactive Marketing: Reaching Customers</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/2007-11-13/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/2007-11-13/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 19 Oct 2007 18:35:00 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Stephan Spencer</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[Seminars]]></category>
<category>Blogs</category><category>Buzz Marketing</category><category>online marketing</category><category>Seminars</category><category>SEO</category><category>Web Analytics</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/2007-11-13/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[ Search engine marketing

Making your site &#8220;search engine friendly&#8221;
&#8220;Pay-per-click&#8221; search advertising
Benchmarking, competitive intelligence and ROI analysis 
Trends in contextual, behavioral and local advertising

Creating a buzz — viral marketing

Blogs, RSS feeds, forums, wikis and more
Harness &#8220;word of mouse&#8221; to enhance your brand 
Identifying the &#8220;sneezers&#8221; who will spread your viral message

Web analytics
Speakers:
Stephan Spencer, Founder and President, [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p> <b>Search engine marketing</b></p>
<ul>
<li>Making your site &#8220;search engine friendly&#8221;</li>
<li>&#8220;Pay-per-click&#8221; search advertising</li>
<li>Benchmarking, competitive intelligence and ROI analysis </li>
<li>Trends in contextual, behavioral and local advertising</li>
</ul>
<p><b>Creating a buzz — viral marketing</b></p>
<ul>
<li>Blogs, RSS feeds, forums, wikis and more</li>
<li>Harness &#8220;word of mouse&#8221; to enhance your brand </li>
<li>Identifying the &#8220;sneezers&#8221; who will spread your viral message</li>
</ul>
<p><b>Web analytics</b></p>
<p>Speakers:<br />
Stephan Spencer, Founder and President, Netconcepts</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.netconcepts.com/2007-11-13/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Wikipedia, Yahoo Answers &#038; Answer Sharing</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/2007-10-17/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/2007-10-17/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 17 Oct 2007 06:00:46 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Stephan Spencer</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[News &amp; Media]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[Seminars]]></category>
<category>Seminars</category><category>Web Marketing</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/2007-10-16-2/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[ Web users rely on community-contributed-content sites such as Wikipedia and Yahoo Answers. These sites enable you to communicate directly with an engaged audience. But contribute to the conversation with care. Too much spin and you&#8217;re credibility will be shot-and your brand damaged. You&#8217;ll come away from this session knowing how these influential sites work [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p> Web users rely on community-contributed-content sites such as Wikipedia and Yahoo Answers. These sites enable you to communicate directly with an engaged audience. But contribute to the conversation with care. Too much spin and you&#8217;re credibility will be shot-and your brand damaged. You&#8217;ll come away from this session knowing how these influential sites work and how to participate constructively.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.netconcepts.com/2007-10-17/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Wikipedia &#038; SEO</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/2007-10-10/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/2007-10-10/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 10 Oct 2007 06:00:26 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Stephan Spencer</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[News &amp; Media]]></category>

		<category><![CDATA[Seminars]]></category>
<category>Seminars</category><category>SEO</category><category>Web Marketing</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/wikipedia-seo/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[ It seems like Wikipedia shows up in the first page of results in Google for just about every search imaginable. Wikipedia’s position as a top authority site is undisputed. Having a presence in Wikipedia has never been so important as it is now, despite the fact that external links in Wikipedia no longer pass [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p> It seems like Wikipedia shows up in the first page of results in Google for just about every search imaginable. Wikipedia’s position as a top authority site is undisputed. Having a presence in Wikipedia has never been so important as it is now, despite the fact that external links in Wikipedia no longer pass PageRank. And it&#8217;s never been so dangerous to make self-interested edits to Wikipedia as it is today, particularly with the advent of such wikisleuthing tools as the Wikiscanner.</p>
<p>Is there a place in Wikipedia for you? Can you protect your interests within Wikipedia in a way that is appropriate and minimizes the risk of a backlash &#8212; now and in the future? Want to know the best ways to interact with the service? Want to learn some valuable lessons from a few Wikipedia marketing successes and failures? Then this session is for you!</p>
<p>Moderator:<br />
Stephan Spencer, Founder and President, Netconcepts</p>
<p>Speakers:<br />
Neil Patel, CTO, Advantage Consulting Services<br />
Jonathan Hochman, Founder/President, JE Hochman &#038; Associates<br />
Don Steele, Director of Enterprise Marketing, Comedy Central</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://www.netconcepts.com/2007-10-10/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Google Trends: Yellow Pages Will be Toast in Four Years</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/google-trends-yellow-pages-will-be-toast-in-four-years/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/google-trends-yellow-pages-will-be-toast-in-four-years/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 24 Sep 2007 15:40:11 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chris Smith</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[News &amp; Media]]></category>
<category>Articles</category><category>local search</category><category>online marketing</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/google-trends-yellow-pages-will-be-toast-in-four-years/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA["Local marketing industry savants have long been predicting the demise of print Yellow Pages books, going the way of the buggy whip due to overwhelming competition from Internet alternatives," writes Chris Silver Smith, Lead Strategist for GravityStream at Netconcepts. In this article, Chris writes about what kind of an impact of local "internet" space has on both printed and online Yellow Pages directories.]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Local marketing industry savants have long been predicting the demise of print Yellow Pages books, going the way of the buggy whip due to overwhelming competition from Internet alternatives. Further, the aggressive invasion of search engines into the local space during the past few years has inspired some analysts to wonder if Internet Yellow Pages directories might also be headed for extinction along with the printed books. Readily available stats from Google show trends and provide a good sense of what&#8217;s actually going on across the local space on the Internet. Ironically, we can also use these stats to predict the demise of traditional Yellow Pages sites.</p>
<p>I did a search via Google Trends to compare the magnitude of searches for &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; and &#8220;white pages,&#8221; and here&#8217;s the chart of these searches from 2004 to present:</p>
<p align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1390/1429163163_6279f69090.jpg" width="500" height="309" alt="Yellow Pages &amp; White Pages Searches in Google" /><br />(Trends in searches for &#8220;<a href="http://www.google.com/trends?q=white+pages,yellow+pages&#038;ctab=0&#038;geo=US&#038;geor=all&#038;date=all&#038;sort=0">White Pages&#8221; &amp; &#8220;Yellow pages</a>&#8220;)</p>
<p>Notice that keyword searches for &#8220;white pages&#8221; seems notably consistent year over year, while searches for &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; seem to be declining. There are a couple of ways we could interpret the dropping trend for YP searches. On one hand, we could assume that people aren&#8217;t looking for Yellow Pages sites as much because they&#8217;re able to find businesses through other types of sites and directly through the search engines themselves. An alternate interpretation could be that users might be going to the Yellow Pages sites directly, through typing in the URLs or bookmarking them. Are people searching in Google for &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; less because the IYP (Internet Yellow Pages) companies are making progress in improving their brand recognition?</p>
<p>Let&#8217;s compare to see whether users are searching more/less for specific IYP brand names:</p>
<p align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1099/1429194085_a9f497fd30.jpg" width="500" height="316" alt="IYPs" /><br /> (Comparing searches for <a href="http://www.google.com/trends?q=Yellowpages.com,Yellow+Book,Yelp,Superpages,Dex+Online&#038;ctab=0&#038;geo=US&#038;date=all&#038;sort=0">Yellowpages.com, Yellow Book, Yelp, Superpages, and Dex Online</a>.)</p>
<p>Quite a few of those online Yellow Pages sites are showing gains over the same period. &#8220;Superpages&#8221; searches are relatively flat, while searches for &#8220;YellowPages.com,&#8221; &#8220;Yellow Book,&#8221; &#8220;Yelp,&#8221; and &#8220;Dex Online&#8221; all show increasing trends. So, could we deduce that this rising brand-name recognition among most of the IYPs has caused fewer people to need to research &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; sites? I don&#8217;t believe so, at least based on keyword searches in Google. Far more users appear to be seeking &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; than are searching for particular IYP brand sites:</p>
<p align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1261/1429230211_c1330c63a1.jpg" width="500" height="304" alt="Yellow Pages vs IYP Brand Searches" /><br /> (Comparing searches for &#8220;<a href="http://www.google.com/trends?q=yellowpages.com,yellow+book,yelp,superpages,yellow+pages&amp;ctab=0&amp;geo=US&amp;geor=all&amp;date=all&amp;sort=0">Yellow Pages&#8221; vs. IYP brands</a>)</p>
<p>At the very least it would appear that the increases in IYP brand-specific searches do not balance out the dropping trend in searches for &#8220;yellow pages&#8221;&mdash;the magnitude in searches for &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; far outpaces combined brand searches for IYPs.</p>
<p>Searches by types of local businesses or organizations seem highly consistent and stable in Google, year over year:</p>
<p align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1365/1429346591_e032bd76f0.jpg" width="500" height="296" alt="Google Searches for Common Local Organizations" /><br /> (Google searches for popular types of <a href="http://www.google.com/trends?q=restaurants%2Chotels%2Cdoctors%2Cflorists%2Cchurch&#038;ctab=0&#038;geo=US&#038;geor=all&#038;date=all&#038;sort=0">local business/organization listings</a>)</p>
<p>Now, I realize it&#8217;s dangerous to base assumptions off such a limited fraction of total Internet statistics, and I&#8217;m making multiple suppositions here. Google Trends only shows relative amounts of total numbers of searches by keyword sequences, so the stats don&#8217;t necessarily have a direct correlation to total traffic. There are so many variables involved that there could be multiple, combined causes for what we&#8217;re seeing here. These trends could be specific to only Google users and not to everyone. And, actual usage of IYP sites may not be reflected by keyword searches for &#8220;yellow pages.&#8221; Yet, Google usage comprises such a large percentage of total online searches, and user search behavior there does often seem to reflect the contemporary zeitgeist. So, I think we could make some valid and intelligent assumptions based on these graphs.</p>
<p>It&#8217;s my opinion that Google&#8217;s (and the other top search engines) innovations in local search combined with increasing inclusion of business listing data in the search engine results pages (&#8221;SERPs&#8221;) is causing users&#8217; behavior to change. Users are finding more and more of the information they&#8217;re seeking directly in SERPs, negating the need to find Internet Yellow Pages. Google Trends shows that users are increasingly seeking &#8220;Google Maps&#8221; just as they&#8217;re searching for &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; less:</p>
<p align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1439/1430349272_ea7fe1be54.jpg" width="500" height="299" alt="Google Maps searches vs. Yellow Pages" /><br /> (Comparing searches for <a href="http://www.google.com/trends?q=Google+Maps%2Cyellow+pages])">&#8220;Google Maps&#8221; vs. &#8220;yellow pages&#8221;</a>)</p>
<p>Is this an actual indicator for increasing usage of Google Maps, while YP usage could be decreasing? At least from some independent reporting, user visits to Google Maps do indeed appear to be fairly healthy and increasing over time. Consider this June report comparing one month&#8217;s usage of Google properties, provided by Hitwise (&#8221;<a href="http://weblogs.hitwise.com/bill-tancer/2007/06/google_universal_search_video.html">Percentage U.S. Visits to Custom Category of Top Google Properties</a>&#8220;:</p>
<p align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1387/1430374450_338db76184.jpg" width="429" height="252" alt="June Hitwise Report: Visits to Google Properties" /></p>
<p>Use of Google Maps appears to be increasing. Why would users perform searches for &#8220;Google Maps&#8221; when they could just click on the &#8220;Maps&#8221; tab/link? Well, most large sites share the experience of having their own domain names and features searched for in the search engines, and Google itself is apparently no exception. </p>
<p>Now, it would be better to be able to compare actual traffic figures from the top search engines and Internet Yellow Pages, but all of them keep pretty mum for strategic reasons. The best we can do is to project estimates and look to companies who report relative audience share and traffic based off of sample sets of the total population of Internet users. ComScore has also reported on relative IYP vs. Local Search vs. Search Engine usage over time, but as Greg Sterling <a href="http://searchengineland.com/070613-143226.php">observes</a>, it&#8217;s been a bit hard of late to interpret their relative figures compared with past stats.</p>
<p>My gut feeling is that the Google Trends graph for searches for &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; is likely representative of a broad behavioral pattern of Internet users who are going to traditional Yellow Pages sites less and less. If we project the pattern out in time, we can see that searches for &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; might reduce down to nil by as soon as 2011:</p>
<p align="center"><a href="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1362/1430976288_0deb6cca70_o.gif" title="Photo Sharing"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1362/1430976288_f1f50271c4.jpg" width="500" height="77" alt="Yellow Pages Usage Declining" border="0" /><br />
  (click to enlarge)</a></p>
<p>Am I predicting the demise of the Yellow Pages and other local directories based off these projections? Not really! There&#8217;s too much investment in these companies for them to sit idly by as their market share and business foundations erode to search engine competition. The savvy companies are evolving themselves to stay relevant in the new paradigms. Sites like Idearc&#8217;s Superpages.com have been moving away from the &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; moniker by incorporating local search style components, social media characteristics, personalization, and partnering to develop major distribution networks. Local info publisher Marchex has developed a plan of bypassing search engines to large degree through <a href="http://searchengineland.com/070423-154346.php">local domaining</a>, and sites like Yelp, Citysearch, Judy&#8217;s Book, and Local Guides have developed loyal followings through social media and user-generated content like reviews and sharing utilities.</p>
<p>Sure, all these types of sites are dependent upon referral traffic from the major search engines, as a <a href="http://weblogs.hitwise.com/leeann-prescott/2007/04/local_search_marketing_panel_a.html">Hitwise report on local search indicates</a>. But, the major search engines like Google are unlikely to de-index all the business directory sites anytime soon, particularly since Google Maps has steadily enhanced its data with content supplied by many of these same local information companies. (Incidentally, that Hitwise report also supports my notion that keyword searches in Google for &#8220;yellow pages&#8221; may have a close correlation with overall IYP traffic - notice that downward trend.)</p>
<p>I think that classic Yellow Pages sites are going to decline, but the companies behind those sites may evolve and merge with other players so that they will survive in new incarnations.</p>
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		<title>Comparing Mobile Ads in Google &#38; Yahoo</title>
		<link>http://www.netconcepts.com/comparing-mobile-ads-in-google-yahoo/</link>
		<comments>http://www.netconcepts.com/comparing-mobile-ads-in-google-yahoo/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 21 Sep 2007 15:49:59 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chris Smith</dc:creator>
		
		<category><![CDATA[News &amp; Media]]></category>
<category>Articles</category><category>online marketing</category><category>SEO</category>
		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://www.netconcepts.com/comparing-mobile-ads-in-google-yahoo/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Google recently opted-in many of their clients’ PPC ads to appear in Google Mobile search results. Yahoo has been offering a small suite of mobile ads for a while now, too, so I thought it’d be interesting to compare their current mobile ad offerings.]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Google recently opted-in many of their clients’ PPC ads to appear in Google Mobile search results. Yahoo has been offering a small suite of mobile ads for a while now, too, so I thought it’d be interesting to compare their current mobile ad offerings.</p>
<p>Google’s announcement that they would automatically opt-in many of their ads to appear on the mobile platform seems somewhat controversial, since one supposes that a number of advertisers might not notice the change and might be irritated that their ads may now be running on an unanticipated platform. After all, many online retailers who advertise expect that some percentage of users clicking through would be placing online purchases, and mobile devices don’t effectively support transactions yet. Google’s <a href="http://www.seobythesea.com/?p=799">patent for Gpay</a> might pave the way for this, but it hasn&#8217;t launched yet. </p>
<p>On one level, Google’s act to opt everyone into this program might not seem all that bad&mdash;after all, advertisers are paying for exposure and referrals, too. Greg Sterling <a href="http://searchengineland.com/070911-162219.php">reports</a> that Google&#8217;s opt-out policy during this trial period is similar to policies Yahoo and Microsoft have used in the past for new/underutilized programs. Since it can be reasonably supposed that CTR on mobile ads is likely relatively low, the cost to advertisers is probably low-to-nil, and Google’s motive is likely just a desire to get research data on mobile ads while also introducing many advertisers to the medium. </p>
<p>A New York Times <a href="http://www.nytimes.com/2007/09/18/technology/18google.html?bl&#038;ex=1190260800&#038;en=a470462dc88125e1&#038;ei=5087%0A">article</a>  quotes Dilip Venkatachari, Product Management Director for AdSense, as saying that &#8220;the ads would provide a new source of revenue for publishers and could encourage more online sites to create mobile-focused Web sites. Like most other Google advertising systems, ad prices will be set through an auction and advertisers will pay when a user clicks on its ad.&#8221; </p>
<p>So, this should encourage more sites to create mobile friendly versions of their sites? While it’s an idealistic desire, the lack of standardization through the wireless devices pose significant challenges to large companies who are already challenged by making things simultaneously attractive, usable, cross-platform compatible, and optimal for search engines. Not to mention that devices such as the iPhone and Palm Treo for Windows are fast making it possible to view &#8220;non-mobilized&#8221; sites just fine, reducing any urgency that companies might feel about getting their content to work well for the new environment. </p>
<p>Interactive advertising on mobile is still very new, and there’s little research as to what’s effective and what works for consumers, much less developers. What many analysts are very sure of is that mobile search is likely to be particularly effective for locally-oriented businesses. As Paul J. Bruemmer <a href="http://searchengineland.com/070919-075231.php">reports</a>, &#8220;While local search marketing is well established, local-mobile search marketing is barely getting started.&#8221; </p>
<p>Paul further voices a concern that many have expressed about the advent of ads on phones, a &#8220;General intolerance of advertising messages on a personal device.&#8221; At least thus far, I’m not hearing a lot of consumer complaints about this yet, perhaps because the ads are not all that obtrusive so far, and perhaps because internet users have already become so accustomed to seeing contextual ads. </p>
<p>For instance, check out these ads I found in Google when doing a search for &#8220;florists in Boston&#8221; on my Treo running Windows and Internet Explorer: </p>
<p align="center">
<div align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1014/1414041406_72475e3816.jpg" width="500" height="487" alt="Mobile Ads - Florists in Boston" /></div>
<p>The ads are located down at the bottom of the search results, and they’re clearly labeled &#8220;Ad&#8221;, so I don’t find them all that annoying. I have seen one ad appear at the top of Google Mobile SERPs before, but it seems to be a very infrequent position for now. </p>
<p>Notice the ad with the URL that appears to be Google-hosted? I wonder if that’s one of the mobile landing pages that Google <a href="http://adwords.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=72226#0.1.1_FAQ2">states</a>  that they may &#8220;adapt&#8221; for users who click through? This seems particularly odd to me, and it looks like the sort of thing where Google ought to spell out under what circumstances they’ll choose to automatically generate a landing page to &#8220;enhance&#8221; the user-experience. This seems very controversial to me, because Google is likely charging advertisers when they click through to those generated landing pages, and advertisers may not realize this, causing them to misinterpret effectiveness of apparent conversion rates. </p>
<p>Now, Yahoo provides advertisers with the ability to purchase similar mobile-friendly pages which I believe are intended for this very purpose, but I don’t think they automatically generate a page in the way that Google does&mdash;it’s voluntary. For instance, check out these ads for &#8220;shoes&#8221; from Yahoo Mobile: </p>
<p align="center">
<div align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1101/1417090539_0044bb0280.jpg" width="500" height="491" alt="Yahoo Mobile Ads" /></div>
<p>When you click on a mobile ad in Yahoo, they provide an optimized mobile landing page. Here’s one that came up for me when I clicked on a Teleflora ad: </p>
<p align="center">
<div align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1021/1417968672_1dc10d1c88.jpg" width="500" height="491" alt="Teleflora Ad in Yahoo Mobile" /></div>
<p>In some cases, Google is choosing to dump users onto the landing pages of the advertiser. For instance, here are ads for a &#8220;shoes&#8221; search in Google Mobile: </p>
<p align="center">
<div align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1174/1417087831_72ed9f9389.jpg" width="500" height="491" alt="Ads for Shoes in Google Mobile" /></div>
<p>And when you click on the ad for Zappos, you get dumped onto their homepage which is not intended for mobile users: </p>
<p align="center">
<div align="center"><img src="http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1213/1417970428_f6cbc6d594.jpg" width="500" height="487" alt="Zappos Homepage in Google Mobile" /></div>
<p>I’m not sure why Google would land a user onto the graphic-intensive <a href="http://www.zappos.com/">Zappos</a> page in this case, instead of using their optimized mobile landing page. Perhaps Google Mobile didn’t think I needed it, since I’m running on a flavor of Internet Explorer? More likely, I’m supposing if the advertiser’s existing landing page includes a phone number, as every page on the Zappos site does, Google may conditionally choose not to automatically generate a more pared-down mobile landing page. </p>
<p>If you’re interested in seeing how your landing page or webpage might be automatically adapted by Google to appear for mobile users, check it out through this interface: <a href="http://google.com/gwt/n">http://google.com/gwt/n</a></p>
<p>Just from observation, <a href="http://mobile.yahoo.com/business/advertiser">Yahoo&#8217;s Mobile Ad Service</a> appears broader and more robustly envisioned, allowing a variety of ad types for mobile, including Display Ads, Search Ads, and Video Ads. Yahoo’s promo copy reads &#8220;…click through to a promotional site, enable the consumer to find or call a store directly, offer a coupon, send an SMS message&mdash;the options keep expanding. If you don’t have a promotional site to link to, Yahoo can create one to your specifications.&#8221; </p>
<p>Since Mobile Search and Local Mobile Search are still relatively virgin marketing territories, Google can be forgiven some early program gaffes. But, online marketers may want to go and opt-out some of their current campaigns from running automatically in the mobile end since it could obscure some of their conversion data, particularly if the ads are intended to primarily drive online transactions. It would be better to set up separate campaigns with separate reporting and check to see if an optimal mobile landing page can be associated with the ad. </p>
<p>Also, for mobile ads, be aware that there’s theoretically greater potential for click-fraud. As I earlier outlined in &#8220;<a rel=no follow href="http://searchengineland.com/070903-083455.php">A Thorny Issue: Detecting Mobile Search Click-Fraud</a>&#8220;, invalid clicks may be a lot harder to identify for mobile ads. </p>
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